Institute on Violence, Abuse & Trauma

NPEIV Executive Committee, Advisory Board & Action Teams

NPEIV: Global Partners for Peace

Executive Committee, Advisory Board, & Action Teams

Executive Committee

President: Robert Geffner, PhD, ABN, ABPP

President-Elect: Viola Vaughan-Eden, PhD     

Members at Large: Victor Vieth, JD & Capt.

Glenna Tinney, MSW, ACSW, DCSW, (Ret.)

IVAT CEO: Sandi Capuano Morrison, MA

Advisory Board:

Alan Rosenbaum, PhD

Joyce Thomas, RN, MPH, FAAN

Kevin Connors, MS, LMFT

Khiya Marshall, DrPH, MPH

L.C. Miccio-Fonseca, PhD

Pamela Pine, PhD, MPH

Samia Noursi, PhD

Saunie Wilson, MA

Tom O’Connell

Action Teams

Public Awareness (1)

Develop a national public awareness campaign

Co-Chairs: Erin Falvey, PhD; Sara Duran, MA

Chair Elect: Vacant

Training and Mentoring (2)

Address training and mentoring needs in each profession

Co-Chairs: Pearl Berman, PhD; Nada Yorke, MSW, LCSW

Chair Elect: Andy Johnson

Practice (3)

Increase our evidence-based knowledge regarding best practices for competent services at every level

Co-Chairs: Megan Garza, MA; Susan Omilian, JD

Chair Elect: Karen Rich, PhD, LCSW

Research (4)

Promote research on interconnections across types of

violence, integrate practice issues into research, support

basic and applied research

Co-Chairs: Lucinda Rasmussen, PhD; Kelly Champion, PhD

Chair Elect: Heather Risser, PhD

Public Policy (5)

Coordinate education for policy impact, identify needs, and develop research involved policy

Co-Chairs: Deb Sendek, MS; Katie Gotch, MA, LPC, CSOT

Chair Elect: Shelly Wagers, PhD, MA

Dissemination/Translation (6)

Develop strategies to translate research into practice and

policy (and vice versa); develop dissemination plan

Co-Chairs: Kevin Hamberger, PhD; Kathy Kendall-Tackett, PhD Chair Elect:  Chris Murphy, PhD

Global Peace (7)

Collaborate with allies internationally engaged in parallel efforts to address violence by focusing on initiatives which provide analysis, education and resources to those working for peace  

Co-Chairs: Michael Levittan, PhD; Suzanna Tiapula, JD; 

Chair Elect: Alicia Limtiaco, JD